Grief, Part 3

Grief, Part 3  “When the first stage of denial cannot be maintained any longer, it is replaced by feelings of anger, rage, envy, and resentment.” Elizabeth Kubler-Ross, MD[1] According to Swiss-American psychiatrist, Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, the initial stage of dying is denial and isolation, which I reflected upon in last week’s Life Note. The next stage, … Continue reading Grief, Part 3

First, Be Reconciled

First, Be Reconciled  So when you are offering your gift at the altar, if you remember that your brother or sister has something against you, leave your gift there before the altar and go; first be reconciled to your brother or sister, and then come and offer your gift.  Matthew 5:23-24 We live in increasingly … Continue reading First, Be Reconciled

How Did I Miss That? Part 35: Anger is a Secondary Emotion

How Did I Miss That? Part 35: Anger is a Secondary Emotion Be angry, but do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger. Ephesians 4:26 There are too many times on too many days that I experience anger. Sometimes, it is my own anger; other times, I am the target … Continue reading How Did I Miss That? Part 35: Anger is a Secondary Emotion

Love is not Resentful

Love is not Resentful Love is patient; love is kind; love is not envious or boastful or arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful… 1 Corinthians 13:4-5 Resentment is an indignant feeling of ill will because of something regarded as a wrong, insult, or injury. … Continue reading Love is not Resentful

The Seven Deadly Sins: Wrath

Life Notes—July 18, 2013  “Refrain from anger, and forsake wrath.  Do not fret—it leads only to evil.”  Psalm 37:8 Most of the time I am an even-tempered person.  Of course I get annoyed when my computer takes longer than normal to start up.  I do not appreciate when someone cuts me off in traffic.  And … Continue reading The Seven Deadly Sins: Wrath